We have assembled national and international CRP pioneers and respected thought leaders who can guide and participate in the activities of the Collaborative.


Brian Atchinson
President & CEO, Medical Professional Liability Association

Cheryl M. De Kleine, Esq.
Board President-Elect, Collaborative for Accountability and Improvement
Senior Director, Claims Management & Litigation Counsel, Ascension Care Management

Jeffrey Driver, J.D., M.B.A.
Immediate Past Board President, Collaborative for Accountability and Improvement

Thomas Gallagher, M.D.
Executive Director, Collaborative for Accountability and Improvement
Professor and Associate Chair of Medicine; Director, UW Medicine Center for Scholarship in Patient Care Quality & Safety; University of Washington

Carole Hemmelgarn, M.S., M.S.
Patient Advocate

Allen B. Kachalia, M.D.
Chief Quality Officer, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Linda Kenney
Executive Director and President, Medically Induced Trauma Support Services

Timothy McDonald, M.D., J.D.
Director, Center for Open and Honest Communication, MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety

Brian M. Parker, M.D.
Board President, Collaborative for Accountability and Improvement
Chief Medical Officer, Allegheny Health Network

Tom Stuebner, M.S.P.H.
Executive Director, Oregon Patient Safety Commission

Eric J. Thomas, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Dean of Healthcare Quality
Professor of Medicine, University of Texas Medical School at Houston


This group of distinguished CRP experts includes patient advocates, patient safety experts, clinicians, academics, professional association leaders, and liability insurance professionals. The Collaborative reaches out to this group regularly to engage their guidance and perspective on its work.

Nikki Centomani, R.N., B.S.N., A.R.M., M.J.
Director, Office of Patient Safety Loyola University

Steve Kraman, M.D.
Professor of Pulmonary, Critical Care, & Sleep Medicine, University of Kentucky

Bruce Lambert, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Communication and Health, Professor, Department of Communication Studies, Northwestern University

Alan Lembitz, M.D., M.M.M.
Chief Medical Officer, COPIC Insurance Company

Kathy Mazor, Ed.D.
Associate Director, Meyers Primary Care Institute, University of Massachusetts Medical School

Marcia Rhodes
Director, UW Medicine & Health Sciences Risk Management, University of Washington

William M. Sage, M.D., J.D. 
James R. Dougherty Chair for Faculty Excellence, School of Law
Professor of Surgery and Perioperative Care, Dell Medical School, The University of Texas at Austin

Jo Shapiro, M.D.
Chief, Division of Otolaryngology, Director, Center for Professionalism and Peer Support, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Michael C. Stinson, J.M.
Vice President of Government Relations & Public Policy, PIAA

David Troxel, M.D.
Medical Director, The Doctors Company

John Walpole
Area Senior Vice President Insurance & Risk Management, North America, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.

Alan Woodward, M.D., FACEP
Past President, MACRMI/Massachusetts Medical Society


Thomas H. Gallagher, M.D.
Executive Director

Steve Levy, M.B.A.
Director of Patient Safety Programs

Paulina Osinska, M.P.H.